armoiries Brouage

M.Jean Marie PETIT

Number of inhabitants 474
Department Charente-Maritime
Town Hall 8 place de Verdun
Tél. : 05 46 31 72 47
image Brouage image Brouage image Brouage

Fonded in 1555 by Jacques de Pons «Jacopolis on Brouage» was originally a trading place post. 

The newly  renamed Brouage was first governed by Cardinal, Duke of Richelieu, who decided to fortify the town magnificently, making it a treasure trove of the wealth generated by the salt trade.
The city has at this time of full activity kew essentially utilitarian small bisness sector. Numerous house keep the tracks of these works shops.

For more than 20 years «Syndicat Mixte de Brouage» develops valuation art profession.
All along the year three Art workshops are opened to make discover to public the craft-men’s work.

Every summer art exhibition called «Les Traversiers des Arts» focus on 2 canadian and 2 french art crafts-men and women, organized in collaboration with the Quebec Art Craft Council.